2017 Winners

Song of the Year

Alternative Song Shawndell Marks Sparta
Blues Song The Jimmys I Wonder, from “Live from Transylvania…”
Children’s Song Tony Bonanno Grand Canyon
Classical Song Kaia Kalise The Tides
Country/Bluegrass Song The Mascot Theory Your Eyes Give You Away
Electronic Song Oh My Love ChaChaCha
Folk/Americana Song The Mascot Theory The Great Divide
Hard Rock/Punk Song Help Desk Boss Level
Hip Hop Song Anthony Lamarr Service
Jazz Song VO5 We’re Getting Older
Pop/R&B Song Shawndell Marks Restless
Rock Song The Big Payback Running with the Fire
Unique Song Shawndell Marks Heart Afire
World Song Natty Nation Divine Spark

Cover Song – Shawndell Marks – Jolene

Album of the Year

Alternative Album Madison Malone Bloom
Blues Album The Jimmys Live from Transylvania, at Sighisoara Blues Festival
Country/Bluegrass Album Driveway Thriftdwellers Cutover Country
Electronic Album Joey Broyles Lucky Superstar
Folk/Americana Album The Mascot Theory Trust And Bones
Jazz Album The Big Payback Animal Brain
Pop/R&B Album Shawndell Marks Broken Dam
Rock Album Beefus Wrong Number of Heads
Unique Album Kerosene Kites Under Cover Holiday
World Album Natty Nation Divine Spark

Performer of the Year

Alternative Performer Madison Malone
Blues Performer The Jimmys
Children’s Performer Mauro Magellan
Country/Bluegrass Performer Driveway Thriftdwellers
Folk/Americana Performer Gin Chocolate and Bottle Rockets
Jazz Performer Joey B. Banks
Pop/R&B Performer The People Brothers Band
Rock Performer The German Art Students
Unique Performer VO5
World Performer Natty Nation

Instrumentalist of the Year

Bassist Jenna Joanis
Brass Mike Boman
Drummer/Percussionist Joey B. Banks
Guitarist Dan Kennedy
Keyboardist Jimmy Voegeli
Specialty Instrument Sims Delaney-Potthoff
Strings Julia McConahay
Woodwinds Tony Barba

Artist of the Year

Artist Of The Year The Mascot Theory

People’s Choice Awards

Cover Band Performer Gold Dust Women
DJ Kayla Kush
Video Of The Year The Mascot Theory Over The Horizon
Live Sound Engineer Jon Chvojicek
Local Live Music Venue High Noon Saloon
Local Music Fan Sarah Warmke
Local Music Radio Personality Rockin’ John McDonald
Local Music Radio Station WORT 89.9
New Artist Imaginary Watermelon
Packaging The Mascot Theory Trust And Bones
Photographer John Urban
Producer Mike Zirkel
Recording Studio Blast House Studios
Roadie Art “Hippo Wrangler” Ranney
Studio Sound Engineer Mike Zirkel


Ensemble Vocals – Gin Chocolate and Bottle Rockets

Female Vocalist – Shawndell Marks

Male Vocalist – Sam Lyons

Breakthrough Artist of the Year

Distant Cuzins

Youth Awards

Youth Woodwind Sophie Zhang Madison Country Day School
Youth Keyboards Andrew Siehr Eagle School
Youth Guitarist Xavi Lynn
Youth Bassist Nic Tiernan Distant Cuzins
Youth Drummer Ben Lokuta Distant Cuzins
Youth Female Vocalist Danielle Bullock Baraboo High School
Youth Male Vocalist Jacob Busher Mount Horeb High School
Youth Song of the Year Need Someone (To Break My Heart) Distant Cuzins
Youth Album of the Year Big Distant Cuzins
Youth Ensemble of the Year Distant Cuzins

Student of the Year

Hannah Nies
Ben Lokuta

Teacher of the Year

Ryan Casey

Musicnotes Award

Maggie and Sims Delany-Pothoff